Printz and Newbery Award Winners ~ 21rst Century



2015  Winner

Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give You the Sun


Jessie Ann Foley, The Carnival at Bray

Jenny Hubbard, And We Stay

Andrew Smith, Grasshopper Jungle

Mariko Tamaki, This One Summer

2014  Winner

Marcus Sedgwick, Midwinterblood


Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor & Park

Susann Cokal, Kingdom of Little Wounds

Sally Gardner, Maggot Moon

Clare Vanderpool, Navigating Early

2013  Winner

Nick Lake, In Darkness


Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Elizabeth Wein, Code Name Verity

Terry Pratchett, Dodger

Beverley Brenna, The White Bicycle

2012  Winner

John Corey Whaley, Where Things Come Back


Daniel Handler, Why We Broke Up

Christine Hinwood, The Returning

Craig Silvey, Jasper Jones

Maggie Stiefvater, The Scorpio Races

2011  Winner

Paolo Bacigalupi, Ship Breaker


Lucy Christopher, Stolen

A.S. King, Please Ignore Vera Dietz

Marcus Sedgwick, Revolver

Janne Teller, Nothing

2010  Winner

Libba Bray, Going Bovine


Deborah Heiligman, Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith

Rick Yancey, The Monstrumologist

Adam Rapp, Punkzilla

John Barnes, Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973

2009  Winner

Melina Marchetta, Jellicoe Road


T. Anderson, The Kingdom on the Waves (Octavian Nothing, Vol II)

Lockhart, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

Terry Pratchett, Nation

Margo Lanagan, Tender Morsels

2008  Winner

Geraldine McCaughrean, The White Darkness


Elizabeth Knox, Dreamquake

Judith Clarke, One Whole and Perfect Day

A.M. Jenkins, Repossessed

Stephanie Hemphill, Your Own Sylvia

2007  Winner

Gene Luen Yang, American Born Chinese


M.T. Anderson, The Pox Party (Octavian Nothing, Vol I)

John Green, An Abundance of Katherines

Sonya Hartnett, Surrender

Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

2006  Winner

John Green, Looking for Alaska


Margo Lanagan, Black Juice

Markus Zusak, I Am the Messenger

Elizabeth Partridge, John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth, a Photographic Biography

Marilyn Nelson, A Wreath for Emmett Till

2005  Winner

Meg Rosoff, How I Live Now


Kenneth Oppel, Airborn

Allan Stratton, Chanda’s Secrets

Gary D. Schmidt, Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy

2004  Winner

Angela Johnson, The First Part Last


Jennifer Donnelly, A Northern Light

Helen Frost, Keesha’s House

L. Going, Fat Kid Rules the World

Carolyn Mackler, The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things

2003  Winner

Aidan Chambers, Postcards from No Man’s Land


Nancy Farmer, The House of the Scorpion

Garret Freymann-Weyr, My Heartbeat

Jack Gantos, Hole in My Life

2002  Winner

An Na, A Step From Heaven


Peter Dickinson, The Ropemaker

Jan Greenberg, Heart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century American Art

Chris Lynch, Freewill

Virginia Euwer Wolff, True Believer

2001  Winner

David Almond, Kit’s Wilderness


Carolyn Coman, Many Stones

Carol Plum-Ucci, The Body of Christopher Creed

Louise Rennison, Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging

Terry Trueman, Stuck in Neutral

2000  Winner

Walter Dean Myers, Monster


David Almond, Skellig

Laurie Halse Anderson, Speak

Ellen Wittlinger, Hard Love




2015 Winner

Kwame Alexander, The Crossover


Cece Bell, El Deafo

Jacqueline Woodson, Brown Girl Dreaming

2014 Winner

Kate DiCamillo, Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures


Holly Black, Doll Bones

Kevin Henkes, The Year of Billy Miller

Amy Timberlake, One Came Home

Vince Vawter, Paperboy

2013 Winner

Katherine Applegate, The One and Only Ivan 


Laura Amy Schlitz, Splendors and Glooms

Steve Sheinkin, Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon

Sheila Turnage, Three Times Lucky

2012 Winner

Jack Gantos, Dead End in Norvelt


Thanhha Lai, Inside Out & Back Again

Eugene Yelchin, Breaking Stalin’s Nose

2011 Winner

Clare Vanderpool, Moon over Manifest


Jennifer L. Holm, Turtle in Paradise

Margi Preus, Heart of a Samurai

Joyce Sidman, Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night  (illustrated by Rick Allen)

Rita Williams-Garcia,One Crazy Summer

2010 Winner

Rebecca Stead, When You Reach Me


Phillip Hoose, Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

Jacqueline Kelly, The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate

Grace Lin, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

Rodman Philbrick, The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg

2009 Winner

 Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book  (illustrated by Dave McKean)


Kathi Appelt, The Underneath

Margarita Engle, The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba’s Struggle for Freedom

Ingrid Law, Savvy

Jacqueline Woodson, After Tupac & D Foster

2008 Winner

Laura Amy Schlitz, Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village


Christopher Paul Curtis, Elijah of Buxton

Gary D. Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars

Jacqueline Woodson, Feathers

2007 Winner

Susan Patron, The Higher Power of Lucky


Jennifer L. Holm, Penny from Heaven

Kirby Larson, Hattie Big Sky

Cynthia Lord, Rules

2006 Winner

Lynne Rae Perkins , Criss Cross


Alan Armstrong, Whittington (illustrated by S.D. Schindler)

Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler’s Shadow

Shannon Hale, Princess Academy

Jacqueline Woodson, Show Way

2005  Winner

Cynthia Kadohata, Kira-Kira


Gennifer Choldenko, Al Capone Does My Shirts    

Russell Freedman, The Voice that Challenged a Nation: Marian Anderson and the Struggle for Equal Rights

Gary D. Schmidt, Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy

2004 Winner

Kate DiCamillo, The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread, (illustrated by Timothy Basil Ering)


Kevin Henkes, Olive’s Ocean

Jim Murphy, An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793

2003  Winner

Avi, Crispin: The Cross of Lead


Nancy Farmer, The House of the Scorpion

Patricia Reilly Giff, Pictures of Hollis Woods

Carl Hiaasen, Hoot

Ann M. Martin, A Corner of The Universe

Stephanie S. Tolan, Surviving the Applewhites

2002  Winner

Linda Sue Park, A Single Shard


Polly Horvath, Everything on a Waffle

Marilyn Nelson, Carver: A Life In Poems

2001  Winner

Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder


Joan Bauer, Hope Was Here

Kate DiCamillo, Because of Winn-Dixie

Jack Gantos, Joey Pigza Loses Control

Sharon Creech, The Wanderer

2000  Winner

Christopher Paul Curtis, Bud, Not Buddy


Audrey Couloumbis, Getting Near to Baby

Jennifer L. Holm, Our Only May Amelia

Tomie dePaola, 26 Fairmount Avenue

Full disclosure: the links here are affiliate links. If you 
think you'll like this book and you'd like to buy from Amazon, feel
 free to buy via these links and we'll get a small percentage. Go team!